Early History of the Lutheran Evangelistic Movement The Lutheran Evangelistic Movement and a Forgotten Mid-20th Century Revival en-us https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/summaries.html Selected Bibliography And Endnotes https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/selected-bibliography-and-endnotes/a80.html?app=1     Selected Bibliography     America’s Hour of Decision.  Wheaton, IL: Van Kampen Press, 1951.   An Ongoing Revival.  Warren, MN: Warren Sheaf Print, 1990, Harvey Dyrud, ... Thu, 21 Feb 2013 00:00:00 -0800 {C370C674-D055-5E5B-55A6-1332DBC7CE9E} Appendix 3 - Do The Work Of An Evangelist https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/appendix-3---do-the-work-of-an-evangelist/a79.html?app=1             Civilization has always been on the advance, but perhaps during no period has it ever progressed as rapidly as it did between 1900 and 1950.  The advances made then in ... Thu, 21 Feb 2013 00:00:00 -0800 {05FB8017-2EFC-7921-D828-07002D8E7007} Chapter 16 - The Wind Blows Where It Wishes https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-16---the-wind-blows-where-it-wishes/a77.html?app=1             That God did indeed send revival to the U.S. during the ten or so years post World War II is quite clear.  Dr. J. Edwin Orr, being one of the chief revival historians ... Fri, 01 Jun 2012 00:00:00 -0700 {CD3BEA25-77C3-5CAC-27D0-FD3FC0CAA3EC} Chapter 15 - Be Filled With The Spirit https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-15---be-filled-with-the-spirit/a76.html?app=1             As has been recounted in the previous chapters, the Lutheran Evangelistic Movement was one of God’s mighty tools for revival during the post World War II years and a ... Fri, 01 Jun 2012 00:00:00 -0700 {390D3339-00F2-1F5E-4346-9AF79592B8B2} Chapter 1 - What God Has Done https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-1---what-god-has-done/a53.html?app=1 You probably wouldn’t be too surprised if I were to tell you that there was a time in the history of our country when nearly half of the population attended church on any given Sunday, the Bible was the best-selling book for years in a row, ... Sun, 20 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {2FC0D1E7-64A5-F2DF-23E5-FEF297FC7624} Chapter 2 - God Has Chosen The Weak https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-2---god-has-chosen-the-weak/a54.html?app=1             On the north shore of Medicine Lake in Plymouth, Minnesota, stands a site that is an undeniable testimony to God’s mighty working in the post World War II ... Sat, 19 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {09677A34-A1A0-A36F-F2AA-20466D363281} Chapter 3 - Then Sinners Shall Be Converted To You https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-3---then-sinners-shall-be-converted-to-you/a55.html?app=1           If you had been a Lutheran pastor, evangelist, or lay leader in the upper Midwest in 1936, you might well have received several weeks before Christmas the following letter which read in ... Fri, 18 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {022F0E32-1A97-66F4-AD67-2C9DD2E59FF3} Chapter 4 - While They Communed Together https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-4---while-they-communed-together/a56.html?app=1             On a certain Sunday afternoon many years ago, two friends were walking together and talking intently as they went.  As would be fitting for any Christians to do on the ... Thu, 17 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {CE5F44E4-0FD1-C249-F574-CADEC3C1D60D} Chapter 5 - Born, Not Of The Will Of Man, But Of God https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-5---born-not-of-the-will-of-man-but-of-god/a57.html?app=1               Throughout the centuries, it has often been a popular activity to compile genealogies or family trees.  Although these are sometimes begun for no other reason ... Wed, 16 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {6A774977-B89F-6B28-B071-BDEA756C8F58} Chapter 6 - Yes, The Deep Things Of God https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-6---yes-the-deep-things-of-god/a61.html?app=1             If its name was to be merely reflective of its largest and most widely-known work, the Lutheran Evangelistic Movement might just as aptly have been named the Lutheran Deeper ... Tue, 15 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {32BA0EDF-FF7E-027A-4DF7-A4F5792C670F} Chapter 7 - The Power Of God To Salvation https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-7---the-power-of-god-to-salvation/a62.html?app=1             What did the members of the Lutheran Inter-Synodical Evangelistic Committee believe was so indispensably distinctive about the work to which God had called them?  By ... Mon, 14 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {8D9BC261-C27E-B3D7-DDE6-B4F7D2A0596D} Chapter 8 - Though The Vision Tarry, Wait For It https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-8---though-the-vision-tarry-wait-for-it/a63.html?app=1             “It is our earnest prayer that our beloved church may in these days experience a heaven sent revival and showers of blessings.  It is ‘Revival or ... Sun, 13 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {09CFA341-289B-3305-3F6A-AF0B220CD0E4} Chapter 9 - Out Of Them All The Lord Delivered https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-9---out-of-them-all-the-lord-delivered/a64.html?app=1             There is perhaps a danger inherent in this history of the Lutheran Inter-Synodical Evangelistic Committee and Lutheran Evangelistic Movement.  The focus is so much on ... Sat, 12 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {6287268E-BAA0-BACD-9EBA-2B198294C569} Chapter 10 - God Gave The Increase https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-10---god-gave-the-increase/a67.html?app=1             As World War II entered what proved to be its final months, the invisible hand of One who knew the future propelled the Lutheran Inter-Synodical Evangelistic Committee ... Fri, 11 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {1EE5B532-B414-6E27-462C-9E452FB0B461} Chapter 11 - A Cloud As Small As A Mana's Hand https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-11---a-cloud-as-small-as-a-manas-hand/a68.html?app=1             The spiritual revival for which the leaders of the Lutheran Evangelistic Movement were seeking the Lord during the 1940’s was not a need limited to their sphere of ... Thu, 10 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {8E2744D1-BCF5-E4C8-71A5-958F853CDAE2} Chapter 12 - When You Search For Me With All Your Heart https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-12---when-you-search-for-me-with-all-your-heart/a69.html?app=1             According to written accounts of many who have lived during times of revival, one of the chief characteristics of such times has been the tremendous spirit of prayer ... Wed, 09 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {749F0381-28BE-7961-28EB-AD3AC5813CFE} Chapter 13 - All The City Was Moved https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-13---all-the-city-was-moved/a70.html?app=1             During the first eight months of 1949, the Lutheran Evangelistic Movement had witnessed in and around their areas of ministry mightier and more regular stirrings of ... Tue, 08 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {1FDCC264-483C-1760-BD5A-EC04C72ED1A5} Chapter 14 - The Word Of God Grew And Multiplied https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/chapter-14---the-word-of-god-grew-and-multiplied/a75.html?app=1             As witnessed by the national press, Billy Graham, the Lutheran Evangelistic Movement, and countless other Christian groups and individuals, the mid-century year 1950 was a ... Mon, 07 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {C65B865E-344A-B4B0-F9A9-76CDE3A75BE3} Appendix 1 - To Other Cities Also https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/appendix-1---to-other-cities-also/a65.html?app=1             When Jesus Christ lived on earth some 2,000 years ago, He did not limit His ministry to one location.  Rather He said, “I must preach the kingdom of God to other ... Sat, 05 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {D8A3784C-DB4A-BBF0-E661-1129819FA767} Appendix 2 - These All Died In Faith https://lemdeeperlife.org/lem-early-history/appendix-2---these-all-died-in-faith/a66.html?app=1             It’s not unusual for people to have some type of belief system that motivates them throughout their lives, but it is quite unusual for people to have a belief system ... Fri, 04 Feb 2011 00:00:00 -0800 {CF46ECC9-1453-0C06-B10B-E522FF846632}